The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds

I have been waiting for literal ever to read this book. I stumbled upon this book at the book store a few years ago but hadn’t had any money to buy it. (#thebookwormstruggle) Then I tragically forgot about it and went on my merry way. Fast forward to two weeks ago when I saw this book in my local Library’s section for EBooks, I instantly checked out the book but waited to read it since I had another book that was going to expire soon, *cough* Paper Cranes *cough*.

After going through so much loss and pain, Matt remains hopeful. This wasn’t the dark, woe-is-me, depressing book I thought it would be. This book was filled with hope, joy, and inspiration.

theboyintheblacksuit 1

After Matt’s mother passes away and his father returns to his bottle-drinking ways, Matt is left alone to fend for himself. Wanting to help with the bills, he takes a job at the local funeral home, not knowing how it will affect his life. Matt not only likes the job and the people he works with, but he likes “crashing” funerals. Meaning, he likes sitting in the back, people watching, so that he knows he’s not alone in his world of loss. He just has one rule, though, no repasts. Ever.  So what happens when he breaks that rule? Well, I’ll let you find out for yourself.

theboyintheblacksuit 3

This book not what I was expecting at all. It was so much better and more. I actually read most of this book on the MRT in Singapore on the way back to our hotel. (It was literally the longest subway ride ever, but at least I got to read!) Pro-tip, bring a book with you on the Subway so you can forget you’re on an over-crowded, stuffy, death-trap. So check this book out, it’s awesome and it was totally worth the wait.

-jane.

the unlost wanderer.

Leave a Reply

